P2V Conversion of an SBS 2003 Server–Part Two

Part Two – Creating the VM

This is Part Two of a Five part series about my experience doing a P2V conversion of my SBS 2003 server to Hyper-V. 

Here are links to the other parts:

 Part One – Creating the VHD

 Part Three – The First Run Tweaking the Server VM

 Part Four – The Second Run Tweaking the Server VM

 Part Five – Last Tweaks and We’re Running

Creating the Virtual Machine

So Now that I had a copy of the newly created VHD of the physical server, I needed to create the Virtual Machine that was going to replace the Physical Box I just shut down. Open Hyper-V Manager, and in the action pane, click New>Virtual Machine.

clip_image002

This started the New Virtual Machine Wizard. The first step is to give the VM a name. This is the name that Hyper-V uses for the Machine. I named it the same as the Netbios name of the server, but I could have named it anything useful. For example, I could have given it a more descriptive name such as “Greg-SRV04 P2V Conversion“.

clip_image004

The next step is to assign memory to the VM. I assigned it 3GBs of Memory. That’s what the Physical server had and it ran just fine. I could have given it a different amount if I wanted.

clip_image006

The next step is to configure Networking. I chose to leave it unassigned for the time being. My reasoning was that it might avoid the server picking up a different IP address before I could assign the correct address to the new Virtual NIC. I’m not sure this would actually happen –I just wanted to play it safe.

clip_image008

The next step is to connect a virtual Hard drive to the VM. The default is to create a new VHD file:

clip_image010

but since I already had a VHD, I selected “Use an existing virtual hard drive” and then hit the browse button.

clip_image012

Browse to the location of the VHD file that had been copied from the physical server to the Hyper-V server and click the “open” button.

clip_image013

Click the “Next” button

clip_image015

And then click finish.

clip_image017

By default, the New Virtual Machine Wizard will give the machine a single processor. I wanted to give it two processors. Make sure the new VM is highlighted and the in the Action pane, click settings.

clip_image019

Change the number of logical processors to 2 and then click the OK button.

clip_image021

Double Click on the VM name or in the Action Pane, click the connect button to open the Virtual Machine Connection Window.

clip_image023

image

In Part Three, I’ll cover starting the Virtual Machine and the first run at tweaking the server O/S to run in Hyper-V.

Explore posts in the same categories: Computers and Internet

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.


